{meta} Your Councillors

Your Councillors

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors receive an annual salary known as a Representational Payment and also a monthly allowance for attendance at Monthly, Annual, SPC, Budget, Protocol and Special Meetings as part of their representational role. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of Donations and Ethics, the details of which are published annually.

Dublin City is divided into 5 administrative areas. These are called Local Areas and are used to co-ordinate the delivery of services into your community.

The Central Area includes Cabra, Broadstone, North Wall, Drumcondra, Ballybough, Phibsboro, East Wall and the North City centre.

The North Central Area includes Kilbarrack, Raheny, Donaghamede, Coolock, Clontarf and Fairview.

The North West Area includes Finglas, Ballymun, Glasnevin and Santry.

The South Central Area includes Ballyfermot, Inchicore, Crumlin, Drimnagh, Walkinstown, The Liberties and the South West Inner City.

The South East Area includes Rathmines, Rathgar, Terenure, Ringsend, Irishtown, Pearse Street and the South East Inner City.