{meta} Agenda for Planning and Urban Form SPC on Tuesday 28th September, 2021, 3.30 pm

Agenda and minutes


Contact: Aileen Mac Dermott 

No. Item


Minutes of Meeting 29th June pdf icon PDF 554 KB


Cllr. Ray McAdam welcomed both the Lord Mayor Alison Gilliland who has taken the place of Cllr. Dermot Lacey as he takes up the position Chair of the Housing SPC, and Fergus Sharpe who is to replace Marian O’Donnell from Dublin Chamber who resigned.  The Chair thanked them both for their contribution and service to the SPC over the last few years.


1.      Minutes of Meeting 29th June

Minutes: Agreed



Matters arising


2.    Matters arising

·         Dublin Bay UNESCO Biosphere Discovery Centre.

Visit on the 21st July was a great success; good to see the plans for the new Discovery Centre. E.I.A. Report due out in the next 6-8 weeks. Robbie Sinnott said that Disabled Persons Organisations, such as Voice of Vision Impairment which he reprsents should be closely consulted at every stage.



·         SHD Process.

The Chair has been in contact with Minister of State Peter Bourke who is willing to meet with us over the next few weeks as he and Minister O’Brien prepare to update legislation. This is to take on board the views of the Members before they draft a new updated Planning and Development Act.  The Chair is finalising a draft document arising from the debate that was had at the meeting in June; this document will be circulated to the Members shortly. 


·         Ancillary Family Accommodation.

Minister Bourke responded on the 28th July to the letter sent by the Chair raising the concerns of the Members on Building Regulations covering attic conversion guidelines and to enquire as to when the new guidelines will be available.  Ministers response to be circulated.



·         New Heritage Plan.

                        Agreed: Cllr. John Lyons and Jonny McKenna to sit on the Heritage Forum, which will be set up later in the year.



Night Time Economy pdf icon PDF 16 MB


3.    Night Time Economy

Ministerial Report circulated prior to meeting. Mary Mac Sweeney and Ciara O’ hAodha gave a brief presentation on the findings and recommendations of the report. 

Members expressed concerns about transport links, environmental impact of noise and vacancy after the pandemic and the requirement for smaller multiuse venues.

Next Steps:

·         Appointment of a Night Time Advisor

·         Issue application forms for pilot

·         Cork and Dublin City to be involved in pilot along with 4 other Towns

Presentation Noted.



Multi Media Digital Kiosks pdf icon PDF 587 KB


4.    Multi Media Kiosks

Report circulated prior to meeting.

The Chair reminded the Members that this is a Strategic Policy Committee and that he did not want to start straying into operational matters.

              Discussion followed and John O’Hara, Dublin City Panning Officer answered questions.

             The main concerns raised were to do with size, conditions for advertising and prior consultation.

     Agreed: John O’Hara will look into operational matters and inspection to be carried out at Fairview kiosk.

Report Noted.



Naas Road URDF Update pdf icon PDF 347 KB


5.     Naas Road URDF Update.

Report Circulated prior to meeting.  Ronan Fallon, Senior Planner went through the presentation.

Discussion followed and Ronan addressed questions raised by the Members.  The general consensus is that this is a very exciting large Development with great opportunity for the regeneration of this area and the City.       

Report Noted.



Masterplans v LAP's pdf icon PDF 1 MB


6.    Masterplan v LAPs

Report, which was welcomed, circulated prior to meeting.

Discussion followed and John O’Hara, Dublin City Planning Officer answered questions.

Report Noted.





7.    A.O.B.


Robbie Sinnottraised the accessibility difficulties that outdoor dining has for visually impaired people and other vulnerable pedestrians.




Date of next meeting

23rd November @ 3.30pm


8.               Date of next meeting 23rd November 2021


 Councillor Ray McAdam


Tuesday 28th September











Ray McAdam (Chairperson)

Patricia Roe

Odran Reid




Lord Mayor Alison Gilliland

Daithí De Róiste                                    

Declan Meenagh

John Lyons

Fergus Sharpe

Sophie Nicoullaud




Anthony Connaghan

Dearbháil Butler

Jonny McKenna




Robbie Sinnott









Non Member

Damien O’Farrell




Richard Shakespeare

John O’Hara

Paul Clegg

Deirdre Scully                                   



        Máire Igoe

        Aileen MacDermott

        Ronan Fallon


         Mary MacSweeney

         Ciara O’ hAodha

         Tara Frehill









Anna Devlin

Tom Brabazon