

Breviate of the Housing Strategic Policy Committee meeting held on 15th February 2023

1. Minutes of meeting dated Wednesday 14th December 2022 and matters arising Order: Minutes Agreed

2. Chairpersons Business

CorrespondenceOrder: Update Noted

3. Void Refurbishment Programme

Order: Update noted

4. SPC Strategic Priorities 2023

Order: Update Noted

5. Update on Working Groups

i. Public Housing Working Group

Order: Update Noted

ii. Special Committee on Homelessness

Order: Update Noted

iii. Local Traveller Accommodation Consultative Committee

Order: Update Noted

iii. Senior Citizens Working Group

Order: Update Noted

iv. Oversight Committee on Animal Welfare Issues

Order: Update noted

6. Motions:

Cllr. Alison Gilliland

The Dublin City Council Strategic Policy Committee for Housing recognises the huge potential for our work in housing to contribute to climate mitigation measures both in terms of new builds and our management and interaction with current stock and acquired stock. In particular, we recognise the potential for our approach when preparing voids and acquisitions for allocation to transition towards a circular economy approach - one that maximises the re-use and re-cycling of internal materials. The Housing SPC therefore requests that a pathway towards this approach be explored,

including a consideration of the benefit of joining the European Investment Bank supported Circular City Centre (C3) support programme (https://advisory.eib.org/about/circular-city-centre.htm) and a report presented back to

Order: Motion Passed

the Housing SPC within 6 months.

7. AOB

Order: Update Noted

CIIr. Alison Gilliland

Chairperson

15th February 2023

Attendance:

Members:

Cllr Mary Callaghan
Cllr Hazel Chu
Cllr Donna Cooney
Cllr Maíre Devine
Cllr Kevin Donoghue
Cllr Pat Dunne
Cllr James Geoghegan
Cllr Alison Gilliland (CP)
Cllr Dermot Lacey
Cllr Briege MacOscar
Cllr Eimer McCormack
Cllr Colm O'Rourke

Cllr Cieran Perry Cllr Karl Stanley

Mike Allen - FI Kevin Byrne – SGCRA Claire McManus - JFOC

Dublin City Council Officials:

Coilín O'Reilly, Assistant Chief Executive, David Dinnigan, Executive Manager Frank d'Arcy, Executive Manager, Mary Hayes, Director of DRHE Ursula Donnellan, Senior Executive Officer, Robert Buckle, Senior Engineer Damien McCabe, Administrator

Other Councillors in attendance

Cllr Mannix Flynn Cllr Deirdre Heney Cllr Janet Horner Cllr Patricia Roe

Apologies

Cllr Daithí Doolan Cllr Deirdre Cronin