

Minutes of the Re-municipalisation of Waste Collection Service Subcommittee held on 13th October 2022 via MS Teams

1. Minutes of the meeting held on 28th April 2022

Order: Agreed.

2. Matters Arising

The Chair introduced Ritchie Carruthers to the group, Ritchie will be replacing Dessie Robinson as the FORSA representative.

Ritchie advised the group

- He is currently the National Secretary for the Local Government and Municipal Division
- Has been working for the union for in excess of 16 years
- The work that is being undertaken by the Subcommittee sits well with the "More Power to You Campaign"
- He hopes to add a new perspective to the deliberations of the Subcommittee

Order: Noted

3. Chairperson's business

None

4. Update on the Status of the Next Stage of the Research Report – Institute Of Public Administration

Joanna O' Riordan updated the Group on the status of the project

- The purpose of the second phase of the project is to review the benefits and the challenges in respect of remunicipalisation
- Referenced the legal context of remunicpalisation

- Advised that is Government and EU policy to transition from a linear economy to a circular economy
- A single, 6 year national waste management is currently being developed and should be available early 2023.
- As part of phase 2 of the Waste Legislation and competition law is being reviewed
- Current and emerging waste policy is being reviewed
- It is intended that a draft report will be available in December
- We will have the report before Christmas, hopefully by 22nd December

Members raised the following questions / issues

- The 1st report referenced that pay was be negotiated with unions in Copenhagen, can the new data be provided (SN)
- Can the issue of waste ownership be included in the final report? (SN)

Order: Noted, the report will be available by 22nd December with a view to having a meeting to review the report on 12th January.

5. Next meeting

12th January 2023

6. A.O.B

None

In Attendance:

Members:

Cllr Daithí Doolan (Chair) (D.D.)

Cllr. Cieran Perry (C.P.)

Cllr. John Lyons

Cllr. Kevin Donoghue

Cllr. Michael Pidgeon

Cllr. Sophie Nicoullaud

Bernie Guinan, A.C.E.I

Dessie Robinson, FORSA (D.R.)

Adrian Kane, SIPTU (A.K.)

Officials:

Chris Carroll, Administrative Officer (C.C)
Ciarán McGoldrick, Senior Staff Officer (CMcG)

IPA: Joanna O'Riordan Sean Keating

Councillor Daithí Doolan

Chair, Re-Municipalisation of Waste Collection Services
Subcommittee
14th October 2022