

# MINUTES OF THE SOUTH CENTRAL AREA COMMITTEE MEETING

# HELD ON WEDNESDAY 15<sup>TH</sup> JUNE 2022

# IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, CITY HALL, DAME STREET, DUBLIN 2

- 1 Minutes of Meeting held 18th May 2022 Order: Agreed.
- 2 Questions to the Director of Services South Central Area Order: Replies to Questions and the Director of Services report circulated.

### 3 Environment & Transportation Matters

- 1. Minutes of the Traffic Advisory Group held on the 31/05/22 in relation to Traffic Matters in the South Central Area.
- 2. Traffic Service Requests Status Reports at 15/05/22 and 27/05/22.
  - Order: 1. Report noted. 2. Report noted.

# 4 South Central Area Matters

- 1. Local Area Community Grants Scheme 2022 Report.
- 2. Director of Services Report.
  - Order: 1. Report Noted.
    - 2. Report Noted.

# 5 Culture, Recreation and Economic Matters

1. Sports and Recreation Report for June 2022 South Central Area. Order: Report noted.

# 6 Planning & Property Development Matters

 With reference to the proposed grant of a further licence of part of the Bluebell Community & Youth Centre, Bluebell, Dublin 12 to Canal Communities Regional Youth Services CLG.
Order: Agreed. Recommend to Council.

#### 7 Emergency Motions

#### June 2022 Motions

8

### DUBLIN CITY COUNCIL SOUTH CENTRAL AREA COMMITTEE <u>15<sup>th</sup> June 2022</u>

#### M175 Councillor Vincent Jackson

A very serious accident occurred in Ballyfermot a couple of months ago at the top of Drumfinn Road next to Staffords Funeral Home resulting in lifechanging injuries for a wonderful local couple.

I am asking that the speed cushions at this location be raised to potentially reduce the speed of vehicles at this location and all reasonable efforts are introduced in the Drumfinn Road Area and to take into consideration the fact there is a large population here with 4 schools, Civic Centre, Sports Complex, Partnership office, Garda Station, new Peoples Park, Intreo Office etc.

Order: Agreed.

#### M176 Councillor Vincent Jackson

Can DCC management explain to the members what measures are available to the Council to have old end of life vehicles removed from outside various houses, from the public footpath / roadway when there is no valid Car Tax certificate / Motor Insurance on display. All too often I see residents trying to get such vehicles owned by others removed without success and I need some proper guidance. **Order: Report to Councillor.** 

### M177 Councillor Daithí Doolan

This Area Committee calls on management to ensure that those companies contracted to maintain our parks and green spaces observe 'no mow' zones and respect work carried out by local environmental groups.

Order: Agreed.

#### M178 Councillor Daithí Doolan

This Area Committee congratulates Ballyfermot Star on the successful launch of their Women's Recovery Café, a community based event encouraging women to access drug treatment and rehabilitation services. **Order: Agreed.** 

Councillor Vincent Jackson Chairperson 15<sup>th</sup> June, 2022

2

# **Attendance**

#### Members:

Vincent Jackson, (Chairperson) Daithí Doolan Darragh Moriarty Hazel De Nortúin Deirdre Cronin

#### Apologies:

Cllr. Máire Devine

#### **Officers:**

### John Flanagan, Assistant Chief Executive, Environment & Transportation; Eileen Quinlivan, Assistant Chief Executive, Corporate Services, Transformation & HR; Derek Kelly, Director of Services South Central Area; Alan Sherry, Senior Executive Officer, Ballyfermot Area Office; Tony Smithers, Area Housing Manager, SWIC; Miriam Flynn, Community & Social Development Officer, Ballyfermot Area Office; Paul O'Halloran, Administrative Officer, Housing & Community Services; Stephen Coyne, Economic Development Officer, South Central Area; Aoife Hannan, Administrative Officer, South Central Area; Neil O'Donoghue, Executive ITS Officer, Environment & Transportation; Brid Brosnan, Executive Parks Superintendent, Culture, Recreation & Economic Services; Gabrielle Malone, Senior Staff Officer, South Central Area; David Quearney, A/Staff Officer, South Central Area;

<u>Members:</u> Sophie Nicoullaud (Vice Chair) Michael Watters Michael Pidgeon Daithí De Róiste