COMHAIRLE CATHRACH BHAILE ÁTHA CLIATH



Miontuairiscí Chruinniú Speisialta a tionóladh ar **11th Bealtaíne 2022** i Seomra na Comhairle, Halla na Cathrach, Cnoc Chorcaí ag **7.30** i.n. I Láthair an tArdmheara **Alison Gilliland** sa chathaoir

Comhairleoir:

Darvl Barron Tom Brabazon Hazel Chu Caroline Conroy Joe Costello Tara Deacv Daithí Doolan Declan Flanagan Mary Freehill Deirdre Henev Vincent Jackson John Lyons Ray McAdam Séamas McGrattan Sophie Nicoullaud Cat O'Driscoll Larry O'Toole Noeleen Reilly **Catherine Stocker**

<u>Oifigigh</u>

Coilín O'Reilly Dave Dinnigan Owen P. Keegan

Comhairleoir:

Racheal Batten Christy Burke Anthony Connaghan Deirdre Conroy Daniel Céitinn Máire Devine Pat Dunne Terence Flanagan James Geoghegan Jane Horgan-Jones Dermot Lacey Micheál MacDonncha Paddy McCartan Declan Meenagh Naoise Ó Muirí Damian O'Farrell Cieran Perry Nial Ring Michael Watters

Ruth Dowling Yvonne Kelly Shannon Kelly

Comhairleoir:

Janice Bovlan Mary Callaghan Keith Connolly Donna Cooney Daithí de Róiste Kevin Donoghue Anne Feeney Mannix Flynn Alison Gilliland Janet Horner Darcy Lonergan Briege MacOscar Eimer McCormack Carolyn Moore Claire O'Connor Colm O'Rourke Michael Pidgeon Patricia Roe

Michael Gallagher Natalie Leonard Prajwal Krishnashetty-Annibabu 1 Under Schedule 10 of the Local Government act 2001 Section 6-I(C) 4 Councillors Janice Boylan, Michael Mac Donnacha, Máire Devine, Anthony Connaghan, Daithí Doolan requested a Special Meeting of Dublin City Council to discuss the following issue: "The Bartra Plan for O'Devaney Gardens and how the recent An Bord Pleanala clarification specified that apartments are not included in the directive with regards to vulture funds. And, therefore all the units in the plan could potentially be sold to cuckoo funds. This has serious implications for this development and completely looks to exclude those who want to live there affordably."

The Lord Mayor invited speakers from all parties to contribute to the debate.

The following motions were proposed:

Motion No. 1

Sinn Féin proposed the following motion:

"The elected members of Dublin City Council expresses deep concern at the Bartra Plan for O'Devaney Gardens and how the recent An Bord Pleanala clarification specified that apartments are not included in the directive with regards to vulture funds.

Therefore all the units in the plan could potentially be sold to cuckoo funds. This has serious implications for this development and completely looks to exclude those who want to live there affordably.

Therefore we urge Dublin City Council to reject the current plan and replace it with a plan that ensures Dublin City Council is the lead developer and ensures that all 1,047 units on the site are social, affordable to buy and affordable to rent.

The development will also include a community creche, community centre and recreational facilities.

During construction a local employment and apprenticeship programme will also be agreed to ensure economic and social benefit for the surrounding community."

This motion was ruled out of order by the Lord Mayor.

Motion No. 2

The following motion was proposed by Cllr Eimer McCormack and seconded by Cllr Daryl Barron:

"The elected members of Dublin City Council welcome the granting of Planning Permission for homes and community facilities at O'Devaney Gardens by An Bord Pleanala. We oppose the sale of any homes in O'Devaney Gardens to "Cuckoo funds". We call on Dublin City Council Executives to do everything within their power to ensure construction commences without delay to deliver a minimum 30% Social Housing, 20% Affordable homes to purchase, 30% Affordable Cost Rental subject to the Development Agreement to include a community crèche, community centre and local employment and apprenticeship program as agreed by the Dublin Agreement Parties Fianna Fáil, The Green Party, The Labour Party and Social Democrat City Councillors in 2019."

The motion was put to a vote and carried. Details of the vote are contained in Appendix A.

LORD MAYOR

MEETINGS ADMINISTRATOR

Vote 1: Motion in the name	e of the Fianna Fáil Party
Councillor Daryl Barron	For
Councillor Racheal Batten	For
Councillor Tom Brabazon	For
Councillor Hazel Chu	For
Councillor Keith Connolly	For
Councillor Caroline Conroy	For
Councillor Deirdre Conroy	For
Councillor Donna Cooney	For
Deputy Lord Mayor Joe Costello	For
Councillor Daithí de Róiste	For
Councillor Kevin Donoghue	For
Councillor Anne Feeney	For
Councillor Declan Flanagan	For
Councillor Terence Flanagan	For
Councillor Mary Freehill	For
Councillor James Geoghegan	For
Lord Mayor Alison Gilliland	For
Councillor Deirdre Heney Councillor Jane Horgan-Jones	For
Councillor Jane Horgan-Jones Councillor Janet Horner	For For
Councillor Janet Horner Councillor Dermot Lacey	For
Councillor Darcy Lonergan	For
Councillor Briege MacOscar	For
Councillor Ray McAdam	For
Councillor Paddy McCartan	For
Councillor Eimer McCormack	For
Councillor Declan Meenagh	For
Councillor Carolyn Moore	For
Councillor Naoise Ó Muirí	For
Councillor Claire O'Connor	For
Councillor Michael Pidgeon	For
Councillor Michael Watters	For
Councillor Janice Boylan	Against
Councillor Christy Burke	Against
Councillor Anthony Connaghan	Against
Councillor Daniel Céitinn	Against
Councillor Tara Deacy	Against
Councillor Máire Devine	Against
Councillor Daithí Doolan	Against
Councillor Pat Dunne	Against
Councillor Mannix Flynn	Against
Councillor Vincent Jackson	Against
Councillor John Lyons Councillor Micheál MacDonncha	Against
Councillor Micheal MacDonncha	Against
Councillor Sophie Nicoullaud	Against Against
Councillor Cat O' Driscoll	Against
Councillor Damian O'Farrell	Against
Councillor Larry O'Toole	Against
Councillor Cieran Perry	Against
Councillor Noeleen Reilly	Against
Councillor Patricia Roe	Against
Councillor Catherine Stocker	Against
Councillor Mary Callaghan	Abstain
Carried	
32 For	
21 Against	
1 Abstention	