

Report to Housing SPC

Date: 13th April 2022

Item No. 6

Special Committee on Homelessness

A meeting of the Special Committee on Homelessness took place on 2nd March 2022 via Zoom. The following were in attendance:

Cllr Hazel Chu GP CHAIR

Cllr Janet Horner GP
Cllr Daithí Doolan SF
Cllr Catherine Stocker SD

Mary Hayes Director DRHE

John Durkan Deputy Director DRHE

Bevin Herbert DRHE

Catherine Kenny Dublin Homeless Network
Ciara McGrath Dublin Homeless Network
Przemek Kluczenko Dublin Homeless Network

A presentation was provided by Ciara McGrath, Crosscare, on behalf of the Dublin Homeless Network, on the topic of migrants accessing homeless services. The following points were raised:

- High representation of non-Irish national persons accessing homeless services when compared to the percentage of the general population that are non-Irish nationals.
- Elements of the assessment process identified by the Homeless Network as potential barriers to supports, in particular the application of Circular 41/2012
- Persons trapped in situations of domestic violence due to the conditions of their permission to reside being looked at by projects such as Crosscare Migrant Project, change in legislation proposed to Department
- Crosscare Migrant Project provide direct training and support to domestic violence refuges
- Variances exist in how local authorities across the country deal with migrant presentations, Dublin LAs respond flexibly however this can result in poor housing outcomes due to the increased demand in the region
- Increased demand in particular areas can also impact other services, for example education and HSE supports in the NEIC are under pressure
- CPS in discussion with Focus Ireland regarding specific interventions for Roma families in PEAs, Depaul migrant HAT offering specific interactions for single Roma adults
- Circular 41/2012 is under review and Crosscare requested the Special Committee write to the Minister requesting this advice be updated.

A site visit to PEA facilities will take place on 6^{th} April 2022 in lieu of a regular meeting of the Special Committee. The following have been invited to attend:

Cllr Hazel Chu	GP	CHAIR
Lord Mayor Alison Gilliland	LAB	
Cllr Daithí de Róiste	FF	
Cllr Daithí Doolan	SF	
Cllr Janet Horner	GP	
Cllr Catherine Stocker	SD	
Cllr Tina MacVeigh	PBP	
Cllr Kevin Donoghue	LAB	
Cllr James Geoghegan	FG	
Cllr Dermot Lacey	LAB	
Cllr Mary Callaghan	SD	
Mary Hayes	Directo	or DRHE

Sheila Hennessy A/ Deputy Director DRHE John Durkan Deputy Director DRHE