

Finance Strategic Policy Committee Breviate of Meeting held on 18th November 2021

1. Draft Minutes of the Finance SPC meeting held on 16th September 2021 Adopted.

2. Matters arising

- The Chair welcomed new members Ellen McGrath, Dublin Chamber of Commerce and Alan Robinson, Dublin Docklands Business Forum to the Finance SPC
- Members were advised that no further update was received from the Minister relating to Dublin City Council's 2022 LPT allocation.
- The work of the Commission of Taxation and Welfare (COTW) is relevant to the issue of Local Government funding.
- Dublin City Council has commissioned a review of local government funding which will be brought to the January meeting.

Agreed: The Chair will write to the COTW asking that it consider local government funding and its importance to local services in its work.

3. Correspondence

- a) Letter to Dublin Docklands Business Forum re sectorial nomination replacement 01/10/2021
 - Correspondence noted
- b) Letter to Dublin Chamber of Commerce re sectorial nomination replacement 01/10/2021

 Correspondence noted
- c) Email from Fergus Sharpe, Dublin Docklands Business Forum 27/10/2021 Correspondence noted
- d) Email from Alan Robinson, Dublin Docklands Business Forum 03/11/2021 Correspondence noted
- 4. Rates Waiver Q4 Report report presented by Anthony O'Donoghue

Report on rates waiver schemes in place over the course of 2021 presented.

Agreed. It was agreed to write to the Minister to request that the Rates Waiver Scheme be extended into 2022.

5. Community Wealth Building Update – report presented by Kathy Quinn.

Agreed. It was agreed to give regular updates to the Members over the coming 18 months on the progress of the CWB Working Group.

6. Housing for All Strategy - Consideration of financial impacts for Dublin City Council.

The members considered a PowerPoint presentation on the new Government housing strategy and the associated key financial issues.

Noted

7. Audit Committee Minutes - minutes of 3rd June 2021.

Noted.

8. A.O.B.

None.

Next Meeting Thursday 20th January, 2022.

Signed:

Councillor Séamas McGrattan
Chairperson
18th November 2021

Members Present

Lord Mayor Alison Gilliland Cllr. Anthony Connaghton

Cllr Daithi De Roiste

Cllr Darcy Lonergan

Cllr Daryl Barron

Cllr Dermot Lacey

Cllr Mary Callaghan

Cllr Nial Ring

Cllr Noeleen Reilly

Cllr Paddy McCartan

Cllr; Seamas McGrattan (Chair)

Aidan Sweeney, IBEC

Ellen McGrath, Dublin Chamber of Commerce

Alan Robinson, Dublin Docklands Business Forum

Philip O'Callaghan, PPN

Eric Fleming, ICTU

Non Committee Members

Cllr. Deirdre Heney

Officials

Kathy Quinn, Head of Finance
Mary Curran, A/Senior Staff Officer
Brendan Dorney, IS Department
Ger Larkin, IS Department
Sophie Kelly, A/PA to the Head of Finance
Fintan Moran, Executive Manager
Anthony O'Donoghue, A/Senior Executive Officer

Apologies

Prof. Caroline McMullan, DCU Cllr James Geoghegan