

Report to Housing SPC

Date: 10th November 2021

Item No. 3iii

Special Committee on Homelessness

A meeting of the Special Committee on Homelessness took place on 6th October 2021 via Zoom. The following were in attendance:

Cllr Hazel Chu GP CHAIR

Cllr Janet Horner GP
Cllr Daithí Doolan SF
Cllr Catherine Stocker SD
Cllr James Geoghegan FG
Cllr Daithí de Róiste FF

Mary Hayes Director DRHE

John Durkan Deputy Director DRHE
Lorraine Brogan A/ Deputy Director DRHE
Dawn Russell Ana Liffey Drug Project

Dawn Russell of the Ana Liffey Drug Project gave a presentation on the addiction and dualdiagnosis supports available to those accessing homeless services. Members were invited to raise any queries following the presentation and the following issues were discussed:

- Wider use of supports following move from drop-in services to in-reach supports and the introduction of 24-hour bookings.
- Approximately 900 persons have accessed addiction/dual-diagnosis supports since June 2020, with approximately 1,400-1,600 persons receiving some level of basic support, e.g. assistance with forms, education, etc.
- o Demand for a supervised injection centre noted, which would allow for improved access to other supports as well as reducing risk of overdose/blood born disease.
- Naloxone training for staff in Private Emergency Accommodations ongoing 60 staff members trained to date.
- Training for responding to suicidal ideation being rolled out to staff in Private Emergency Accommodations
- ALDP have access to HSE interpreters and employ a multi-cultural team in order to minimise language and cultural barriers for those accessing supports
- ALDP and Coolmine will receive funding from DRHE and will access PASS to record care plans, with DRHE Housing Support Officers covering the housing piece

The next meeting will take place on 3rd November. The topic for discussion will be the recently published On-Street Food Services in Dublin: A Review. The following have been invited to attend:

Cllr Hazel Chu	GP CHAIR	
Lord Mayor Alison Gilliland	LAB	
Cllr Daithí de Róiste	FF	
Cllr Daithí Doolan	SF	
Cllr Janet Horner	GP	
Cllr Catherine Stocker	SD	
Cllr Tina MacVeigh	PBP	
Cllr Kevin Donoghue	LAB	
Cllr James Geoghegan	FG	
Mary Haves	Director DRHE	

Mary Hayes

Sheila Hennessy A/ Deputy Director DRHE Deputy Director DRHE John Durkan