

Breviate of the Dublin City Joint Policing Committee (JPC) meeting held on 21st September 2021

In accordance with the Joint Policing Committee Guidelines, the Breviate of the meeting of the Dublin City Joint Policing Committee held on 21st September 2021 is set out hereunder:

- 1) Minutes of meeting held on 6th July 2021 **Order: Agreed.**
- Illegal Importation of Drugs Barney Malone, National Profiling Centre, Customs Division, Dublin Port Branch Order: Deferred to next meeting.
- 3) Report of Assistant Garda Commissioner, An Garda Síochána Order: Presentation from Assistant Commissioner Cagney welcomed and noted.
- 4) Report of Deputy Chief Executive, Dublin City Council **Order: Noted.**
- 5) A.O.B.

Item referred from South Central Area Joint Policing Subcommittee meeting, held 26th July, for consideration by Dublin City JPC:

Use of Sulkies – What laws exist, to hold people to account?

Use of Carriages – What laws govern horse-drawn carriages?

Order: An Garda Síochána to investigate where the responsibility lies in respect of animal-drawn vehicles and report back.

- 6) Retirement of Brendan Kenny, Deputy Chief Executive Chairperson paid tribute to Brendan Kenny on the occasion of his upcoming retirement after more than 45 years' service. Councillors thanked Brendan and wished his well in his retirement on behalf of their respective colleagues and political parties.
 - C.S.McMenamin, on behalf on Assistant Commissioner Cagney, Chief Superintendent Michael McElgunn and himself, paid tribute to Brendan Kenny on his upcoming retirement. He acknowledged Brendan's contribution to policing in his role of Deputy Chief Executive.
- 7) Date of next meeting:
 Next meeting scheduled to take place on **Tuesday 16**th **November at 2.30 p.m. via**"**Zoom**".

Cllr. Daithí De Róiste Chairperson, 21st September 2021

Attendance:

Councillors:

Lord Mayor Alison Gilliland
Daithí De Róiste (Chairperson),
Mannix Flynn (Vice-chair),
Daithí Doolan,
Danny Byrne,
Larry O'Toole,
Ray McAdam,
Joe Costello,
Janet Horner,
Tara Deacy,
Deirdre Heney,
Dermot Lacey

Oireachtas:

Senator Mary Seery-Kearney

An Garda Síochána:

Chief Superintendents Michael McElgunn Patrick McMenamin

Community/Business Reps:

Theresa Kelly Tony Duffin Joe Donohoe Fergus Sharpe Richard Guiney

Non-members:

Leah McKenna, Staff Officer, South East Area