

MINUTES OF THE TRAFFIC AND TRANSPORT SPC MEETING HELD ON TUESDAY 25 May 2021 – ON-LINE VIA TEAMS AT 15:00

1 Minutes of Traffic & Transport SPC Meeting held on 3rd February, 2021

Agreed

- Minutes of the Public Transport Sub-Committee Meeting held on 26th
 January, 2021
 Agreed
- Minutes of the Walking & Cycling Sub-Committee Meeting held on 25th January, 2021
 Agreed
- Dublin City Council EU Programme Participation Strategy 2021 2027. presentation by Ciara O hAodha, Senior Economic Development Officer and Mary MacSweeney, Senior Executive Officer.

Ciara O'hAodha and Mary MacSweeney gave a presentation on Dublin City Councils EU Programme Participation Strategy 2021 – 227 and addressed questions raised by Members. Colm Ryder Dublin Cycling Campaign requested the report be circulated to all members and that the report is available on the Dublin City Council website.

Report Noted.

3 Dublin City Council Speed Limit Review - Brendan O'Brien, A/Executive Management Traffic

Brendan O'Brien Acting Executive Manager Traffic Department reported to members on Dublin City Council Speed Limit review and noted that the Speed limit review was a non-statutory public consultation not a Bye-Law public consultation process. The making of bye-laws is a reserved function of the City Council.

Question from Members were answered by Brendan O'Brien in relation to the Report. While there was a lot of support for the 30KPM with regard to the safety aspect, there were concerns raised in relation to the consultation process being biased in favour of a 30KPM speed limit and the promotion of the love 30 campaign during the consultation period, there was no information on arguments against 30KPH.

Some members recommended to go to the Statutory consultation stage, 30KPH zones beneficial for residential areas and safer for vulnerable road users. Requests from some members that infrastructural changes will also be required for 30KPH to be successful, i.e. narrowing traffic lanes, chicanes, surfaces changes ramps etc., Request also for plain English to be used in all reports to communicate clearly to the public and SPC members of proposals.

Report Noted. Members request report goes back to City Council for decision.

4 Presentation on Shared Mobility - Dr. Brian Caulfield, Associate Professor, Centre for Transport Research, Trinity College Dublin

Dr. Brian Caulfield gave a presentation on shared mobility and answered questions from members. Dr. Caulfied noted no disability inclusion in report presented will be included. DCC committed to delivering on shared mobility, new section being set up a key element being to improve car and bike sharing schemes. Copy of presentation to be forwarded to all SPC members..

Report Noted.

5 E-Scooters Update - Clive Ahern, Administrative Officer, Sustainable Mobility & Projects

Clive Ahern gave an presentation on Draft Prior Information Notice for future proposed City Council E-Scooter shared schemes.

Members raised concerns regarding safety issues around dockless scooters, littering footpaths, creating trip hazards, geographic spread, training hi-viz etc..

Clive Ahern advised this process is to inform the City Council on all these issues raised by members by engaging with Operators to gain information that will inform Dublin City Council on all matters in relation to management of this type of shared scheme. Nothing can happen until Government introduce legislation on E-Scooters. Dublin City Council then propose to introduce Bye-Laws for the operation and management of E-Scooters.

Members were advised that they can submit any queries by 31st May 2021 to martina.halpin@dublincity.ie in relation to the PIN Notice. Currently awaiting Legislation for E scooters from Government

Brendan O'Brien wished Clive Ahern well on his promotion and in his new role in Housing and thanked him for his work in the Traffic Department. Members also thanked Clive and wished him well in his new role.

Report Noted.

Report on Parking Enforcement Policy with regard to Footpath Parking - Dermot Stevenson, Parking Enforcement Officer

Following Dermot Stevenson report on proposed policy regarding footpath parking, member agreed to go with Option 2 with a request from members for a report in the future to review its progress.

Report Noted.

7 Update on College Green - Brendan O'Brien, A/Executive Manager Traffic

Noted. Brendan O'Brien gave a verbal update regarding College Green Plaza. Further discussions taking place with businesses in the area. Propose to bring report to next SPC with more detailed timetable for project.

8 Motion in the name of Councillor Jane Horgan Jones

Members agreed to request short report from DCC to outline the issues in relation to the proposal.

9 Motion in the name of Councillor Tina MacVeigh (Mot. 85, agreed at South Central Area Committee to refer to Traffic and Transport SPC)

Members agreed to take Cllr. Tina McVeighs Motion early.

Members supportive of the Motion. Brendan O'Brien advised the issue would require discussions with Planning and An Bord Pleana and a further report would issue back to the SPC on this issue.

10 Motion in the name of Councillor Caroline Conroy

Agreed – Members agreed the motion indicating they are supportive of secondary schools being incorporated into the safe school zones bearing in mind the current staff constraints and priority currently being given to primary schools.

Motion in the name of Councillor Naoise O'Muirí and Councillor Damian O'Farrell (Motion 6 agreed at North Central Area Committee to refer to Traffic and Transport SPC)

Motion was debated and a vote was taken by members. The motion was passed result as follows:-

- 5 Members for the Motion
- 4 Members against the Motion.
- 1 Abstained.

Chairperson

Tuesday 25 May 2021

Attendance:

Cllr. Keith Connolly Cllr. Anne Feeney Richard Guiney Cllr. Janet Horner (Chair 4.30 – 6.30) Cllr. Caroline Conroy Cllr. Mannix Flynn Martin Hoey Cllr. Janet Horgan-Jones Cllr. Paddy McCartan Cllr. Carolyn Moore Cllr. Carolyn Gry Kearney Cllr. Carolyn Gry Kearney Cllr. Carolyn Gry Kearney Cllr. Carolyn Gry Kearney Cllr. Carolyn Moore Cllr. Caroline Conroy Keith Gavin Cllr. Jane Horgan-Jones Cllr. Paddy McCartan Colm Ryder	<u>Members:</u>	Members:	<u>Members:</u>
4.30)	Cllr. Anne Feeney Richard Guiney Cllr.Janet Horner (Chair 4.30 – 6.30)	Cllr. Mannix Flynn Martin Hoey Gary Kearney Cllr Larry O'Toole (Chair 3p.m	Keith Gavin Cllr. Jane Horgan-Jones Cllr. Paddy McCartan

Fergus Sharpe Cllr. Daniel Ceitinn

Officers

Brendan O'Brien Mary MacSweeney Patricia Reidy Martina Halpin Deirdre Kelly John Flanagan Ciara O'hAodha Bernard Lester Mary Boyle Claire French Dermot Stevenson Brendan O'Brien Antonia Martin Michael Mann Fergal McKay

Apologies:

Chair Cllr. Christy Burke

Non-Members:

Cllr. Donna Cooney Dr. Brian Caulfield

Cllr. Naoise O'Muiri

Cllr. Damien O'Farrell