

Report to Housing SPC

Date: Wednesday 9th June 2021

ltem No. 3iii

Special Committee on Homelessness

A meeting of the Special Committee on Homelessness took place on 5th May 2021 via Zoom. The following were in attendance:

Lord Mayor Hazel Chu	GP, CHAIR	
Cllr Alison Gilliland	LAB	
Cllr Deirdre Conroy	FF	
Cllr Daithí Doolan	SF	
Cllr Janet Horner	GP	
Cllr Catherine Stocker	SD	
Mary Hayes, Director DRHE		
Bob Jordan, National Director of Housing First		
Bevin Herbert, DRHE		

Mary Hayes, Director DRHE, made a presentation giving an overview of the Allocations Scheme and single persons experiencing homelessness. Members were invited to raise any queries following the presentation. The following topics were discussed:

- o Investing in Emergency accommodation versus investing in Housing.
- HAP transfer list waiting time, frustrations with changing positions and move towards 50% of lettings. Allocations gradually increasing to the Transfer list particularly Band 1 Transfer HAP.
- Interagency work and the supports available to persons experiencing and exiting homelessness. Closer work with HSE and planning around integrated assessments.
- o Domestic Violence and Homelessness How DRHE works with TUSLA
- Comparison of HAP, Social Housing and Emergency Accommodation in terms of Cost
- Homeless assessment and placement process
- \circ $\,$ Safety concerns of persons in relation to using EA $\,$
- Planned research with Irish Prison Service and Probation Service regarding exprisoners experiencing homelessness
- EA for persons with low/no care needs

The next meeting will take place on 2nd June 2021 via Zoom and the topic will be Deaths in Services, with representatives from relevant organisations present. The following have been invited to attend:

Lord Mayor Hazel Chu	GP	CHAIR
Cllr Alison Gilliland	LAB	

Cllr Deirdre Conroy	FF
Cllr Daithí Doolan	SF
Cllr Janet Horner	GP
Cllr Catherine Stocker	SD
Cllr Anthony Flynn	IND
Cllr Tina MacVeigh	PBP
Cllr Kevin Donoghue	LAB
Cllr James Geoghegan	FG
Mary Hayes	Director DRHE
Mary Flynn	Deputy Director DRHE
John Durkan	Deputy Director DRHE
Bob Jordan	National Director of Housing First
Bevin Herbert	Central Placement Service DRHE
Dr Austin O'Carroll	SafetyNet
Brian Kirwan	HSE, CHO 9