

Report to Housing SPC

Date: Wednesday 12th May 2021

Item No. 3iii

Special Committee on Homelessness

The first meeting of the Special Committee on Homelessness took place on 7th April 2021 via Zoom. The meeting was attended by the following:

Lord Mayor Hazel Chu GP CHAIR

Cllr Alison Gilliland LAB Cllr Deirdre Conroy FF Cllr Daithí Doolan SF Cllr Janet Horner GP Cllr Anthony Flynn IND Cllr Tina MacVeigh **PBP** Cllr Kevin Donoghue LAB FG Cllr James Geoghegan

Mary Hayes Director DRHE

Bob Jordan National Director of Housing First
Bevin Herbert Central Placement Service DRHE

Sheila Hennessy Homeless HAP and Settlement Support DRHE

Lord Mayor Hazel Chu was elected Chairperson of the Committee on foot of nomination by Cllr Alison Gilliland. The Terms of Reference for the Special Committee were agreed. A presentation on the Role, Legislation and Governance of the DRHE was given by Mary Hayes, Director of DRHE.

Chairperson, Lord Mayor Hazel Chu, invited suggestions of topics or areas that the attendees would like to discuss in future meetings and what they would like from the Working Group. The areas to be covered in the May, June and July meetings were agreed as follows:

- May An overview of the Allocations Scheme will be given and the responses to single persons experiencing homelessness will be discussed.
- June Deaths in service will be discussed and representatives from relevant organisations will be invited (e.g. HSE).
- July Standards in Emergency Accommodation will be discussed and it is intended for John Durkan to give a presentation. The procurement process will also be discussed.

It was agreed that the meetings will be held on the first Wednesday of each month from 10.30am to 12pm, with the DRHE acting as secretariat.