<u>Draft Terms of reference – Waste remunicipalisation</u>

<u>Purpose</u>

The Waste Remunicipalisation subcommittee aims to produce policy recommendations to advance the project of a remunicipalised waste service in Dublin City. This would include, inter alia:

- Research with a third-level institute to develop a roadmap to a public waste management system for Dublin City
- Examining the challenges facing this project, such as labour, legal and financial matters.
- Recommendations for the Dublin City Development plan
- Recommendations for pilot programmes, including a shared urban composting scheme in each administrative area of the city

Membership

The membership of the subcommittee shall be open, in keeping with its initial ethos, but shall initially consist of:

- Cllr. Daithi Doolan
- Cllr. Tina MacVeigh
- Cllr. Sophie Nicoullaud
- Cllr. Tom Brabazon
- Cllr. Cieran Perry
- Cllr. Kevin Donoghue
- Cllr. Ray McAdam
- Cllr. Gary Gannon
- Cllr. Michael Pidgeon (as SPC chair)
- Peter Nolan (Fórsa representative)
- Brendan O'Brien (SIPTU representative)

Meetings & reporting

The taskforce should aim to meet at least every 2 months on a day to be determined that does not conflict with other Committees of the Council, but may meet more frequently by agreement of its members. It shall report to the Climate Action, Energy and Environment SPC at every second meeting.

Tenure of subcommittee

The subcommittee will aim to produce a report by September 2021 and can set out recommendations to the SPC on whether it should continue after that.

Quorum

The quorum for meetings of the subcommittee will be 4.