To the Lord Mayor and Members of Dublin City Council

Report No. 327/2020 Report of the Climate Action, Environment & Energy Strategic Policy Committee



Breviate of the Climate Action, Environment and Energy Strategic Policy Committee Meeting Held on 26th September 2020.

- 1) Minutes of the meeting held on 1st July 2020
- Councillor Michael Watters was not recorded as being in attendance.
- CCMA recommended and approved Climate training to be added to minutes Order: Agreed with amendments.
- 2) Matters Arising. None.
- 3) Correspondence Noted
- 4) Chairpersons Business Order: Noted
- Minutes of the Air Quality Subcommittee Meeting held on 17th July 2020 Order: Noted
- Minutes of the Climate Action Subcommittee held on 13th July 2020 Order: Noted
- 7) Climate Action Subcommittee Submission on Legislation Order: Submission Noted
- 8) Climate Actions Update Report Céline Reilly / Sabrina Dekker Order: Update Noted
- Climate Action Funding Presentation and funding sources Céline Reilly / Sabrina Dekker
 Order: Noted
- **10)** Climate Action Presentation

a) Resource Management – Simon Brock, Administrative Officer, Waste Management Services

Order: Presentation Noted

b) Nature Based Solutions – Les Moore, City Parks Superintendent **Order: Presentation Noted**

c) Eastern and Midland Regional Waste Office – Hugh Coughlan, SEO **Order: Presentation Noted**

11) Motion in the name of Councillor Deirdre Heney

"That a sub-committee of this SPC be established for the purpose of ensuring that the specifications to be included in the next tender for a dog pound facility ensure that animal welfare is at the centre of any such tender and any such facility."

Order: Agreed, Chair to seek nominations for the Subcommittee and meeting to be arranged

12) A.O.B.

Councillor Flynn referred to a previous meeting of the SPC where and undertaking was given to replace the plastic segregating cycle lanes etc. with planters of more aesthetically pleasing measures

Robert Moss mentioned follow queries in relation to Heat Pumps etc. Ciaran McGoldrick to forward when available.

Order Noted

<u>Cllr. Michael Pidgeon</u> Chairperson 1st October 2020

Attendance:

Members

Councillor Claire Byrne Councillor Janice Boylan Paul Boylan, Dublin Chamber Councillor Tom Brabazon Trevor Clowry PPN Councillor Joe Costello Councillor Mannix Flynn Michael Goan R.I.A.I Bernie Guinan A.C.E.I Councillor John Lyons Robert Moss, PPN Councillor Naoise Ó'Muirí Councillor Michael Pidgeon (Chair) Councillor Catherine Stocker Councillor Michael Watters

Also in Attendance

Councillor Deirdre Heney Councillor Cieran Perry.

Officials

Céline Reilly, Executive Manager Les Moore, City Parks Superintendent James Nolan, Senior Executive Officer Simon Brock, Administrative Officer Hugh Coughlan, Coordinator, EMWR Sabrina Dekker, Climate Action Coordinator Ciarán McGoldrick, Senior Staff Officer