Report No. 354/2020 Report of the Planning and Urban Form Strategic Policy Committee



## Planning and Urban Form Strategic Policy Committee Breviate of Meeting held on 29<sup>th</sup> September 2020

Cllr. Ray McAdam announced that Cllr. Darcy Lonergan is to resign from Committee.

- 1. Minutes of Meeting 30<sup>th</sup> June Order: Agreed
- 2. Matters arising
- Criteria for selecting Council owned sites for disposal This to go before full Council for December meeting.
- PPN need to nominate a 2<sup>nd</sup> person to the Planning and Urban Form SPC. Robbie Sinnott has sent letter to the Secretariat of the PPN. The position needs to be filled before the 24<sup>th</sup> November or will need to go to outside body.
- Capturing public gain from Land Zoning Measures. CPG have agreed for a Sub Committee to be set up. Members to get back to Chair with nominations over the next 4 weeks.
- 3. Update on Nass Road/ Ballymount / Cherry Orchard/ Park West URDF Masterplan.

Presentation given by Brian Keaney, Senior Planner, This presentation will be going out to the Area Committee.

Discussion followed Brian addressed questions raised by the members. Main issues raised related to; Place Making, Transport Links, Ambition for Height and Water Reservoir as an amenity and to lessen reliance on the Shannon.

Order: Presentation Noted. Agreed to provide some statistics on Build to Rent Planning applications

## 4. Update on Urban Regeneration and Development Fund (URDF)

The Dublin City Planner gave a presentation which outlined the; Background to Fund Concept Area 1 North Inner City Concept Area 2 South Inner City Concept Area 3 Cherry Orchard Concept Area 4 Clongriffen / Belmayne Next Steps; this is to be brought before the Department on the 1<sup>st</sup> of October Discussion followed and the City Planner and ACE addressed questions raised by the members, mainly relating to the Bid selection process. **Order: Presentation Noted** 

## 5. City Development Plan: Communication Strategy.

The Dublin City Deputy Planner gave an overview of the Report.

Discussion followed and the Deputy City Planner addressed questions raised by the members. **Presentation Noted** 

Order: It was agreed that this document be circulated to all Councillors. First round of workshops to start in November.

## 6. Ancillary Family Accommodation

Order: It was agreed that this item to be brought forward to the November Meeting as CIIr. Dermot Lacey had another meeting this afternoon.

## 7. SHD Process

Discussion on the process among the Members followed. The observations included; Problem with getting the presentations on time for review, requests for presentation in advance where there are Statuary deadlines involved. Need for consistent approach across the 5 Areas. If possible for the presentations to go to the Area Committee the day before a meeting. **Order: It was agreed that the process document to be sent to the SPC Members.** 

## 8. A.O.B.

## Cllr. Anthony Connaghan brought an Emergency Motion

"That this SPC deplores the demolition of 40 Herbert Park, the historic family home of 1916 leader The O'Rahilly, in defiance of the decision of the City Council to begin the process of adding this house to the List of Protected Structures. We call on the Chief Executive to take immediate action to prevent further work on the site."

The Chair said this is not an issue for the Planning and Urban Form Committee as it is an operational issue.

Order: It was agreed that the ACE will do a report to ascertain the facts. Has there been a breach in Planning Regulations; if so appropriate action will be taken. Report on investigation to go to Members before Council Meeting on the 5<sup>th</sup> October.

### Transport changes during Covid-19

Robbie Sinnott wanted to raise his concerns about the profound changes being made under the guise of Covid-19. The Chair said that he had been on to Cllr. Burke Chair of the Traffic and Transport SPC who would get back to Robbie about his concerns.

### 9. Date of next meeting 24<sup>th</sup> November 2020

<u>Councillor Ray McAdam</u> Chairperson Tuesday 29<sup>th</sup> September 2020

## Attendance:

## Members:

Ray McAdam(Chairperson) Dermot Lacey Daithí De Róiste(Deputy Chair) John Lyons Anthony Connaghan

## Members:

Patricia Roe Sophie Nicoullaud Declan Meenagh

### Members:

Jonny McKenna Marian O'Donnell Robbie Sinnott Odran Reid

<u>Officers:</u> Richard Shakespeare John O'Hara Deirdre Scully

Máire Igoe Brian Keaney Jonathan Fallon Aileen Mac Dermott

# Non-Members:

Cllr. Donna Cooney Cllr. Mary Freehill