

Breviate of the Meeting of the Protocol Committee held on 26th November 2020

In accordance with Standing Orders of the City Council, the Breviate of the Meeting of the Protocol Committee held on 26th November 2020 is submitted herewith.

1) Proposal to move the January City Council Meeting from 4th to 11th January 2021

Order: Agreed and recommend to Council.

2) Proposed Deadline for Council Questions and Motions to the January City Council meeting - Wednesday 16th December 2020

Order: Agreed and recommend to Council.

3) Councillor Training Programme 2021

Ruth Dowling gave a brief presentation and identified several areas which the Members should find beneficial including Personal Safety Training, Social Media Skills, Corporate Ethics and the Management of online meetings.

The Members thanked the Manager for preparing the Training Programme and welcomed the introduction Social Media training especially with regards to dealing with online abuse. They suggested that the Chairing of Meetings (online and physical), Standing Orders and the planning system including the role of the Councillor would also be areas that Councillors could benefit from additional training.

Councillor Heney informed Members that following the passing of her motion on Dementia Awareness in 2019 only one training session had taken place. She requested that specific training on this issue be identified for Councillors.

The Manager informed Members that training was not limited to those areas included in the Training Programme. Councillors have an annual training budget of €1,000 which can be used for additional courses provided they are relevant to the role of an elected representative.

Order: Agreed and recommend to Council

4) A.O.B.

Councillor Micheal MacDonncha informed Members that the Arts SPC wish to establish an Irish Language Sub-Committee and requested approval from the Committee.

Order: Agreed. Recommend to the Corporate Policy Group for ratification.

<u>Councillor Anne Feeney</u> Chairperson Thursday 26 November 2020

Attendance:

Members:

Anne Feeney (Chairperson)
Anthony Connaghan
Joe Costello
Mannix Flynn
Deirdre Heney
Dermot Lacey
Darcy Lonergan
Micheal Mac Donncha
Briege MacOscar
Naoise Ó'Muirí
Cat O'Driscoll
Michael Pidgeon
Noeleen Reilly

Officers:

Ruth Dowling Michael Gallagher Deirdre Ní Raghallaigh