Report No. 225/2020 Report of the Planning and Urban Form Strategic Policy Committee



Planning and Urban Form Strategic Policy Committee Breviate of Meeting Held on 25th February 2020

Cllr. Ray McAdam offered congratulations to Cllr. Nessa Hourigan on her election to Dáil Éireann, and to Cllr. Tom Brabazon now the Lord Mayor.

1. Minutes of Meeting 26th November 2019

Minutes: Agreed

2. Matters arising

Agreed: To invite Irish Green Building Council to do presentation for 28th April

Agreed: To look at the parameters for the Development Plan, next meeting 28th April

3. Introduction to Short Term Letting and Enforcement

Planning Enforcement Officer gave presentation that highlighted:

- The background to the new regulations and what they mean, including definitions and restrictions.
- Enforcement measure that planning authorities can avail of against unauthorised short term letting activity.
- The current position of Dublin City Council relating to applications for change of use to short term lettings.
- The current staffing of the Short Term Letting Unit.

Discussion followed and Cllr. Lacey wished to thank the Minister for funding the unit. **Agreed:** That a further update be given at the November meeting.

4. The Office of the Planning Regulator

The Planning Regulator gave a presentation going through the key functions of the office:

- 1. Assessment of Statutory Plans, evaluate local authority/regional assembly plans at strategic level. This is to ensure consistency with National Planning Framework and Regional Spatial and Economic Strategies, keeping in mind Guidelines and Directives issued by the Minister.
- 2. Review and examination of local authority and Bord Pleanála systems and procedures in the delivery of planning services to the public. This to be carried over a 6 year+ cycle. Review process will be an important resource for the planning sector.

3. Building knowledge and information base in planning through training for local authority members and staff, public information and research

National Planning Knowledge Group established and considering topics-e.g.

- Assessment of climate impact in forward planning decisions.
- GIS tools to assist forward planning.
- What would DCC's SPC consider are important topics?
 - Discussion followed and the Committee welcomed the Planning Regulator and the presentation which helped to give clarity to the role and function of this new Office.

5. Motion

Motion in the name of Cllr. Alison Gilliland

The Planning and Urban Form SPC seeks that when a DCC owned piece of land exceeding 300 square meters is presented for disposal that the disposal report include an in-depth independent assessment on the site potential for, in the first instance, housing and in the second instance community enhancement such as additional recreational, sporting, artistic etc. This independent assessment shall make a recommendation as to the type of housing or community use including a costing of developing the site for such use and the potential return (financial, community value, no of families housed) to the Council should it be developed. The assessment should provide guidance as to whether and to what extent the monetary benefit to the council from disposing of the site outweighs the long-term social and economic benefit foregone in terms of the necessary development of housing and other public uses. Furthermore should any site be disposed of such a disposal shall be conditional to a development agreement to submit a planning application and to commence work on the site so as to prevent the land from being hoarded or left unused.

Assistant Chief Executive read out the reply and spoke about developing a process.

Agreed: Report on the matter to go to next SPC Meeting on Tuesday 28th April. This Report to set out set of criteria and process, this to be agreed by the Committee and then go to Council.

- 6. A.O.B.
- 7. Date of next meeting 28th April 2020

Councillor Ray McAdam Chairperson 25th February 2020

Attendance:

Members:

Ray McAdam(Chairperson)

Dermot Lacey Odran Reid John Lyons

Members:

Patricia Roe Sophie Nicoullaud Anthony Connaghan

Robbie Sinnott

Members:

Jonny McKenna Marian O'Donnell

Officers:

Richard Shakespeare

Paul Clegg John O'Hara Máire Igoe Mary Hayes James Cosgrove Michael Fanning Jonathan Fallon Aileen Mac Dermott

Conor O'Hanlon

Apologies: Tom Brabazon Daithí De Róiste

Jane Horgan Jones

Non-Members:

Niall Cussen Daniel English Mannix Flynn