Report No. 84/2020 Report of the Climate Action, Energy & Environment Strategic Policy Committee



# Breviate of the Climate Action, Energy and Environment Strategic Policy Committee Meeting Held 29th January 2020

1. Minutes of the meeting held on 1<sup>st</sup> May 2019 & 27th November 2019

## Order: Agreed.

2. Matters arising

Robert Moss requested that outstanding motions should be an Agenda item under matters arising

# Order: Agreed

3. Correspondence

## None

4. Chairperson's Business

## None

 Proposed amendment to City Council's Waste Management (Storage, Presentation and Segregation of Household AND Commercial Waste) Bye-Laws. Eithne Gibbons, Senior Executive Officer

# Order: Agreed. Recommend to City Council that the proposed amendment go out to Public Consultation

6. Breath Life Campaign – Briefing Note

# **Order: Noted**

7. Establish Remunicipilisation of Waste Collection Service Subcommittee

## Order: Bernie Guinan to be a member of the Subcommittee

8. Establish Air Quality Subcommittee

Order: Agreed. Membership to be expanded to 5, 3 Councillors and 2 sectoral. Membership initially Cllr. Naoise Ó'Muirí, Cllr. Michael Pidgeon and Trevor Clowry. Further members to be sought

9. Establish Climate Action Subcommittee

Order: Agreed. Membership to be expanded to 5, 3 Councillors and 2 sectoral. Membership initially Cllr. Claire Byrne, Robert Moss and Michael Goan, R.I.A.I. Further members to be sought

- 10. Climate Change Action Plan: Report on Outcomes in Energy & Buildings 2019
  - (i) Céline Reilly, Executive Manager

#### Order: Noted

- (ii) Ali Grehan, City Architect Order: Presentation Noted. Response to Robert Moss' questions to issue
- (iii) Shane Hawkshaw, Senior Executive Engineer. Mechanical and Energy Efficiency Division

#### **Order: Presentation Noted**

(iv) Brian Connolly, CODEMA

#### **Order: Presentation Noted**

11. A.O.B.

None

<u>Cllr. Michael Pidgeon</u> Chairperson, 30th January 2020

#### In attendance

Councillor Claire Byrne Paul Boylan Trevor Clowry Councillor Mannix Flynn Michael Goan Bernie Guinan Robert Moss Councillor Naoise Ó'Muirí Councillor Michael Pidgeon

#### **Apologies**

Councillor Janice Boylan Councillor Tom Brabazon Councillor John Lyons Councillor Michael Watters

#### **Officials**

Céline Reilly, Executive Manager Ali Grehan, City Architect Eithne Gibbons, Senior Executive Officer James Nolan, Senior Executive Officer Shane Hawkshaw, Senior Executive Engineer Victor Coe, Senior Executive Engineer Ciarán McGoldrick, Senior Staff Officer Owen Sweeney, Staff Officer