

Breviate of the Meeting of the Housing Strategic Policy Committee held on 8th January 2020

1. Minutes of meeting dated Thursday 5th December 2019 and matters arising

Discussion followed

Agreed: Minutes agreed

Agreed: Management to circulate the written report on rent arrears as presented at

the December meeting the item to be included in future meeting

2. Chairperson's Business:

Discussion followed

Correspondence

Agreed: Acknowledgement letter from the DHPLG noted

Festival of Public Housing

Agreed: Proposal shall be presented to members at the next meeting

Understanding Public Housing Working Group & Rent Model Review Working Group

Chairperson briefed members on proposed terms of reference & welcomed suggestions.

3. Housing Management Update

Housing Supply Report

Discussion followed

Agreed: New Letting report/update at March SPC meeting

II. Depot Consolidation Report – Identified for Housing Projects

Discussion followed

Agreed: Depot report from previous Council term to be circulated

III. Homelessness Report

Discussion followed

Agreed: an update on the Day Services Report to be presented at next Housing Management focused meeting

IV. Response to Recommendations from the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Housing, Planning & Local Government Report on Family and Child Homelessness

Agreed: Defer discussion on report. Queries to be emailed to Manager and Chairperson

4. AOB

Discussion followed

Cllr. Alison Gilliland Chairperson

ATTENDANCE

COUNCILLORS

Cllr. Mary Callaghan

Cllr. Donna Cooney Cllr. Kevin Donoghue

Cllr. Dáithi Dooloan

Cllr. Hazel Chu

Cllr. Mary Fitzpatrick

Cllr. Alison Gilliland (Chair)

Cllr. Cieran Perry

Cllr. Anthony Flynn

Cllr. Tina MacVeigh

Cllr. Colm O'Rourke

EXTERNAL MEMBERS

Pat Greene: Dublin Simon Community

Karen Murphy: Irish Council for Social Housing Mick O'Reilly: Irish Congress of Trade Unions

Mike Allen: Focus Ireland

DUBLIN CITY COUNCIL OFFICIALS

Brendan Kenny, Assistant Chief Executive David Dinnigan, Executive Manager Darach O'Connor, Senior Executive Officer Dáithi Downey, Senior Executive Officer

Christy McLoughlin, Administrator (Committee Secretary) Eva Chudomelova, Assistant Staff Officer

Other Councillors in attendance:

Cllr. Chris Andrews Cllr. Mannix Flynn

Apologies

Ard Mhéara Paul McAuliffe Cllr. Críona Ní Dhálaigh

Cllr. Pat Dunne Liam Kelly: WRA Denise Murray: RIAI Aine Wellard :BRI