To the Lord Mayor and Members of Dublin City Council

Report No. 232/2019
Report of the Chief Executive



Nomination of External Members to the Dublin City Council Audit Committee.

Section 59 of the Local Government Reform Act 2 014 which replaced section 122 of the Local Government Act 2001 in relation to audit committees, requires a local authority to establish an Audit Committee following Local Elections. The Local Government (Audit Committee) Regulations 2014 (S.I. 244 of 2014) provide that Dublin City Council's Audit Committee should consist of 7 members and include not less than 4 external members, not more than 3 serving or retired elected members and include three or more persons having knowledge or experience in finance, audit or accounting.

The regulations further provide that nominations for appointment to an Audit Committee shall be made by the Corporate Policy Group to the Local Authority following consultation with the Chief Executive. The appointment of members of an audit committee is a reserved function of the Local Authority. At its meeting of 1st July 2019, Dublin City Council approved the nomination of Councillors Naoise O Muiri, Nial Ring and Mary Fitzpatrick to its Audit Committee. Nominations were then sought for external membership of the Audit Committee. The following nominations were received

- Johnny McElhinney, nominated by the Docklands Business Forum
- Nathy Walsh, nominated by the Institute of Public Administration
- Prof. Diarmuid Hegarty, nominated by the Dublin Chamber of Commerce
- Awaiting formal nomination of fourth member

The Corporate Policy Group will consider the nominations at its meeting on Friday, 30th August 2019. Should the nomination be recommended the Council will be requested to confirm the nominations to facilitate an early meeting of the Audit Committee.

Owen P Keegan
Chief Executive

27th August 2019