

Breviate of The Meeting of The Transportation Strategic Policy Committee Held On 10th April, 2019

- Minutes of meeting held on 30th January, 2019
 a)Minutes of Special Meeting on Liffey Cycle Route, 3rd April, 2019
 Both sets of minutes agreed
- 2. Velo City Dublin 2019

Ms. Antonia Martin, Administrative Officer, gave a presentation to the Committee on Velo City Dublin, 2019. All details are available at www.velo-city2019.com

Presentation noted

3. Cycle Safe Initiative

Mr. Christopher K Manzira, Senior Transportation Officer gave a presentation on the project.

Presentation noted

4. Bleeperbike

Mr. Hugh Cooney CEO of Bleeperbike presented his report to the Committee.

Report and presentation noted

5. Report on Suffolk Street Improvement

Ms. Patricia Reidy, a/Senior Engineer, City Centre Projects presented the report on Suffolk Street to the Committee and also gave an update on College Green.

Report and update noted

6. Cordon Count 2018

Mr. Brendan O'Brien, a/Executive Manager (Traffic) gave a presentation to the Committee on the Cordon Count for 2018.

Presentation noted

7. Dublin City Council Policy on A Boards – Verbal Update

Mr. Kevin Meade, SEO, informed the Committee that DCC were introducing a Licensing system for 'A' Boards.

Report noted

8. Parking Control Bye-Laws 2019

Mr. Dermot Stephenson, Parking Enforcement Officer presented the report on Parking Control Bye-Laws 2019 to the Committee.

Members agreed to recommend Dublin City Council Parking Control Bye-Laws, 2019, to the City Council for adoption.

Report noted and recommendation agreed

9. Parking Enforcement

Mr. Dermot Stephenson, Parking Enforcement Officer, gave an update on DCC's Parking Enforcement Section to the Committee.

Presentation noted

10. Draft Special Speed Limit Bye-Laws 2019

Ms. Helen Smirnova, Senior Executive Engineer presented the report on the Draft Special Speed Limit Bye-Laws 2019 to the Committee.

Members agreed to recommend the Draft Dublin City Council Special Speed Limit Bye-Laws 2019 to the City Council for approval to initiate the public consultation process. **Report noted and recommendation agreed**

11. Minutes of Cycling and Walking Sub-Committee meeting held on 12th December, 2018 (copy attached)

Minutes agreed

Motions

12. Motion in the name of Councillor Patrick Costello (deferred from meeting of 14th November, 2018):

"That this committee agrees to amend Dublin City Council street nameplate policy so that where a street is named in honour of someone a secondary sign of similar design is provided which gives a brief one sentence description and their dates of birth and death are included. This is standard practice in other cities, such as Paris for example, and will ensure the knowledge of the person honoured is carried on along with their name."

Motion fell

13. Motion in the name of Councillor Ciarán Cuffe

"That this committee notes the recent rise in usage of electric scooters and other emobility options in Dublin City, and while welcoming the rise in low-carbon mobility; is concerned at the risks to riders and pedestrians; notes the difficulty in registering such mechanically propelled vehicles; and requests the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport to examine best practice in other jurisdictions and as a matter of urgency put in place regulations concerning their use."

Motion agreed

Cllr Ciarán Cuffe Chairperson 11th April 2019

ATTENDANCE:

SPC Members:

Cllr Ciarán Cuffe, Chairperson; Cllr Kieran Binchy; Cllr Tom Brabazon; Cllr Paul Hand; Cllr Jane Horgan-Jones; Cllr Teresa Keegan; Cllr Paddy McCartan; Cllr Ciarán O'Moore.

Ms Fiona Kelty, National Council for the Blind of Ireland; Mr Frank Mulligan, Irish Road Haulage Association; Mr Richard Guiney, Dublin Town; Mr Keith Gavin, Irish Parking Association; Mr Martin Hoey, Public Participation Network; Mr Colm Ryder, Dublin Cycling Campaign; Mr Barry Aldworth, AA Ireland Ltd.

Apologies: Cllr Mannix Flynn, Cllr Ray McHugh,

Dublin City Council Staff:

Mr Brendan O'Brien, a/Executive Manager (Traffic); Christopher Manzira, Senior Transportation Officer; Patricia Reidy, a/Senior Engineer, City Centre Projects; Andy Walsh, Senior Engineer; Kevin Meade, Senior Executive Officer; Dermot Stephenson, Parking Enforcement Officer; Antonia Martin, Administrative Officer; Helen Smirnova, Senior Executive Engineer; Claire French, Executive Engineer; Barry McCann, Executive Engineer;

Ms Mary Boyle, a/Senior Staff Officer; Mr Michael Mann, Staff Officer; Mr Fergal McKay, Assistant Staff Officer, Ms Hazel Tapley, Assistant Staff Officer.

Bleeperbikes - Mr. Hugh Cooney CEO