To the Lord Mayor and Members of the Dublin City Council Report No. 160/2019 Report of Transportation Strategic Policy Committee



Breviate of The Special Meeting of The Transportation Strategic Policy Committee on The Liffey Cycle Route Held on 3rd April, 2019

1. Liffey Cycle Route

A joint presentation on the proposed Liffey Cycle Route was given by -Mr. Hugh Creegan, Deputy Chief Executive, National Transport Authority and Mr. Brendan O'Brien, Head of Technical Services, Dublin City Council.

The Chair thanked DCC and NTA staff along with the consultants for their work on the scheme.

Colm Ryder, Dublin Cycling Campaign who sent his apologies to the meeting, asked that the following be included on record of the meeting:

"Dublin Cycling Campaign is delighted to see the progress that has been made on developing an acceptable and safe cycle route along the heavily trafficked Liffey Quays. This proposed route will be an iconic statement of intent that Dublin City is really supporting walking, cycling and public transport above other modes. This latest design is really good news for pedestrians, cyclists and bus users in particular, and will also help to reduce the level of accidents along this spine."

There was further discussion by the Members on the proposals. While querying some details, all SPC Members present supported the outline proposals in general.

Cllr Ó'Muirí and Cllr McAdam, non SPC Members in attendance at the meeting voiced their support for the proposals.

The presentation was noted.

It was agreed that the proposed route presented would go forward to a non-statutory public consultation.

<u>Ciaran Cuffe</u> Chairperson 2nd May 2019

Attendance:

SPC Members:

Cllr Ciarán Cuffe, Chairperson; Cllr Jane Horgan-Jones; Cllr Frank Kennedy; Cllr Ruairí McGinley; Cllr Ciarán O'Moore, Cllr Larry O'Toole.

Mr Martin Hoey, Public Participation Network.

Apologies: Cllr Tom Brabazon; Cllr Mannix Flynn, Cllr Ray McHugh, Cllr Paddy McCartan, Mr Frank Mulligan, Irish Road Haulage Association; Irish Ms Fiona Kelty, National Council for the Blind of Ireland; Mr Richard Guiney, Dublin City Business Improvement District t/a Dublin Town; Mr Keith Gavin, Irish Parking Association; Mr Colm Ryder, Dublin Cycling Campaign; Mr Barry Aldworth, AA Ireland Ltd.

Members of the City Council:

Cllr Naoise Ó'Muirí, Cllr Ray McAdam

Dublin City Council Staff:

Mr Dick Brady, Assistant Chief Executive; Mr Brendan O'Brien, Head of Technical Services (Traffic); Christopher Manzira, Senior Transportation Officer; Andy Walsh, Senior Engineer, Niall Bolger, Executive ITS Officer; Kilian McCrann, Chief Technician; Franke Lambe, Senior Executive Officer.

Ms Mary Boyle, a/Senior Staff Officer; Mr Michael Mann, Staff Officer; Ms Carmel Curran, Staff Officer, Ms Hazel Tapley, Assistant Staff Officer, Mr Patrick Davis, Clerical Officer.

National Transport Authority: Mr Hugh Creegan, Deputy Chief Executive, Michael Aherne, Oliver Dalton.