{meta} Agenda for Planning and Urban Form SPC on Tuesday 27th September, 2022, 10.00 am

Agenda and minutes

Venue: Council Chamber, City Hall, Dame Street, Dublin 2.. View directions

Contact: Aileen Mac Dermott 


No. Item


Minutes of the meeting held on the 3rd May 2022. pdf icon PDF 315 KB

Additional documents:


1.      Minutes of Meeting 3rd May 2022

Minutes: Agreed



Matters arising

Additional documents:


2. Matters arising

The Chair welcomed New Member, Professor  Diarmuid Hegarty, President of Griffith College who is replacing Fergus Sharpe representing Dublin Chamber of Commerce

·  O’Connell Street

   Agreed Members to send on thoughts, ideas by e-mail to Odran Reid. Then hope to collate all reports on O’Connell Street prior to next meeting. A working Group may be set up.


·  Inchicore Retail Strategy

   Agreed: Copy of letters to be sent to Members which were sent on behalf of the Chair Cllr. Ray McAdam.

   A letter was sent to Mr. Jim Conway, Director of The Eastern and Midland Regional Assembly, reply received from Jim Conway.

  A letter was also sent to Mr. Paul Hogan, Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage.


·  Dublin Bay UNESCO Biosphere Discovery Centre (Update)

  A final round of consultations with local stakeholders has been undertaken, including input from DCC’s Access Officer and DCC’s Equality Officer.  Robbie Sinnott made the point that Disabled Persons Organisations should be closely consulted at every stage.

  Agreed: Richard Shakespeare to contact City Parks Superintendant regarding interaction with Robbie Sinnott.

·      Heritage Forum (Update)

           Charles Duggan is to agree on the terms of reference and this to go to the CPG in November.




O'Connell Street

Additional documents:


3.       O’Connell Street

Report postponed till next meeting.



Housing Supply Coordination Task Force Q1 & Q2 2022 for discussion pdf icon PDF 532 KB

Additional documents:


4.      Housing Taskforce Q1 & Q2 Returns.

Report circulated prior to meeting. Deirdre Scully, Deputy City Planning Officer, went through the report and answered questions raised by the Members.

Key points:

The figures only count sites that are 10 units or higher and do not count social housing.

The total number of grants in the City stands at 30,000 approx. at the moment.

There has been an 11% increase in the number of active sites between Q1 last year and Q1 this year.

The 4 Local Authorities are going to track more data and have more information. This information is collated manually.

Agreed: To give an update after every Q.

Report Noted.



Analysis on the use of the Derelict Sites Act 1990 in the Dublin City area and the application for the listing as a derelict site to ensure that all derelict sites are captured. pdf icon PDF 683 KB

Additional documents:


5.     Analysis on the use of the Derelict Sites Act 1990

Report circulated prior to meeting.  Nial Dully, Administrative officer gave a brief presentation on the Derelict Sites Act 1990 and answered questions raised by the Members. The members were informed that The Planning Policy and Legislation Section in the Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage has recently established a Derelict Sites Act Working Group to look at the functioning of the Derelict Sites Act in combatting dereliction.


Agreed: PowerPoint presentation to be sent to Members.

Working Group will report back on top 3 recommendations.

Report Noted.




Additional documents:


6.     A.O.B.

Robbie Sinnott wanted to make the point that all plans whether for Traffic /Housing should be in an accessible format to include word documents and description of images.

Agreed: Chair will follow up with the CPG in November.




Date of the next meeting

Wednesday 7th December time to be discussed 10am /2.30pm

City Hall / Hybrid

Additional documents:


7.     Date of next meeting:

7th December 10am 2022




Additional documents:


Councillor Ray McAdam


Tuesday 27th September




Members:                                    Members:                            Members:

Ray McAdam (Chairperson)       Declan Meenagh                Odran Reid

John Lyons                                 Robbie Sinnott                    Prof. Diarmuid Heagarty

Anthony Connaghan                   Sophie Nicoullaud


Officers :                                     Officers:                              Officers:

Richard Shakespeare                Nial Dully                            Aileen Mac Dermott

John O’Hara                              Kathy McHugh                    Jonathan Fallon

Deirdre Scully


Apologies:                                 Apologies:

Daithí De Róiste                       Dearbháil Butler

Tom Brabazon                          Patricia Roe

Alison Gilliland

Anna Devlin

Jonny McKenna