

Report to Housing SPC

Date: Wednesday 12th October 2022

Item No. 5 iii

Special Committee on Homelessness

A meeting of the Special Committee on Homelessness took place on 8th September 2022 via Zoom. The following were in attendance:

Cllr Hazel Chu GP CHAIR

Cllr Alison Gilliland LAB
Cllr Janet Horner GP
Cllr Daithí Doolan SF
Cllr James Geoghegan FG

Mary Hayes Director DRHE

John Durkan Deputy Director DRHE
Rachel Reddy Development Officer DRHE

Brian Friel Deputy CEO, PMVT

An overview of Housing First was provided to the Committee by Brian Friel, Deputy CEO PMVT, including the following points:

- Over 600 Housing First tenancies have been created in the Dublin Region to date, with a retention rate of 87%.
- Tenancy sustainment through early intervention is a priority but where a tenancy ends, the tenant is rehoused via Housing First.
- Multidisciplinary team primarily based in the city centre but with hubs and satellite teams across the region, consisting of case workers, mental health staff, medical staff, and addiction specialists.
- Housing First is more cost effective than emergency accommodation and is client centred.
- Tenancies are the same as any other private rented or LA tenancy, i.e. lease and environmental health standards, with the only difference being the supports provided.

An overview of the implementation of Quality Standards to Private Emergency Accommodation was provided by Rachel Reddy, Development Officer DRHE, detailing the following:

- Quality Standards themes and KPIs.
- Training programme being rolled out across services in partnership with the HSE, which will be part of service providers' contracts going forward.

The next meeting is scheduled to take place on 13th October 2022. Women in Homelessness data and Integrated Care & Case Management Model have been selected as the topics for discussion. The following have been invited to attend:

Cllr Hazel Chu	GP	CHAIR
Lord Mayor Alison Gilliland	LAB	
Cllr Daithí de Róiste	FF	
Cllr Daithí Doolan	SF	
Cllr Janet Horner	GP	
Cllr Catherine Stocker	SD	
Cllr Tina MacVeigh	PBP	
Cllr Kevin Donoghue	LAB	
Cllr James Geoghegan	FG	
Mary Hayes	Directo	or DRHE
Mary Flynn	Deputy	Director DRHE
John Durkan	Deputy	Director DRHE
Bevin Herbert	Dublin	City Council