

MINUTES OF THE PROTOCOL COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY 4 JANUARY 2018

1 Minutes of the meeting held on 30th November and matters arising

Order: Agreed

2 Lord Mayor Receptions and Engagements of the Deputy Lord Mayor

Order: Noted and Recommended to Council

3 Part 8 Planning Application Procedures

Order: Report noted and referred to the Planning and Property Development SPC for their consideration.

4 Motion in the name of Councillor Mannix Flynn:

"That this Protocol Committee initiates a full review of the procedures with regards the handing back of the Honorary Freedom of the City in order to establish a clear guideline and protocol for any event that may arise in the future."

Order: The motion was seconded by Cllr. Anne Feeney and was agreed. The Manager to provide a report to the Protocol Committee, outlining draft guidelines for the return of the Honorary Freedom of the City.

5 Motion in the name of Councillor Damian O'Farrell:

Order: It was agreed that the motion be referred to the Planning and Property Development SPC to be considered in conjunction with the report on the Part 8 Procedures as discussed in item 3.

Motion in the name of Councillor Mannix Flynn referred by the South East Area Committee:

Order: The Manager informed the Committee that the Chief Executive was undertaking a review of the uses of City Hall Exhibition Space, Palace Street and the Rates Offices and it was agreed by the Members that the issues raised by Cllr. Flynn's motions could be addressed within that process.

7 Motion in the name of Councillor Mannix Flynn referred by the South East Area Committee:

Order: Refer to item 6

8 Planned works for City Hall 2018:

Order: The Manager informed Members that the following work would be undertaken in City Hall in 2018:

- Provision of the Parenting Room (January)
- Refurbishment of the Ladies 1st floor toilet (January)
- New Kitchen and office facilities in Supper Room annex (February)
- Window reveal repair along front elevation to Dame Street (January)
- Painting of the Council Chamber (August)
- Repairs to perimeter Iron Work (Ongoing)

The Manager also informed the Committee that works on disabled access to City Hall and the Rates Office would commence in 2018 in line with the Part 8 approved by Council.

The Lord Mayor informed Members that significant works regarding disabled access were being carried out in the Mansion House and that he would provide an update to the next Protocol Committee meeting.

9 Managers Report:

Order: The Manager informed Members on the following issues:

- 2018 Pocket Diaries have been sourced and issued to all Councillors.
 The Manager to bring a report before the Committee with regards future provision of the pocket diary.
- An assessment of the effect of GDPR on Council questions was being carried out, following which a report would issue to the Committee.
- The Members were informed the IPB does not provide professional indemnity to Councillors with regards transgressions under data protection regulations. Cllr. Dermot Lacey to raise the matter with IPB.
- The Catalan Flag was now flying over City Hall. The Flags subcommittee is due to meet on 10th January and would report back to the committee once it has completed its review.

10 **A.O.B.**

The Chair of the Protocol Committee, Cllr. Deirdre Heney in consultation with the Ardmhéara, recommended that Mr James Connolly be appointed as Senior Council to provide an outside legal opinion on the process surrounding the Clontarf to City Centre Cycleway Part 8 Application.

Order: The Committee accepted this recommendation and it was agreed that any Councillor who wished to make an observation or submission on the matter should do so by Friday 26th January 2018. Submissions should be made directly to the Law Agent, Mr. Terrence O'Keeffe. The Manager to circulate to all Members.

Proposed Date of next meeting - Thursday 1st February 2018 at 8am in the Richard O'Carroll Room, City Hall

Order: Agreed.

Attendance:

<u>Members:</u> Deirdre Heney (Chairperson)

Brendan Carr Mannix Flynn John Lyons Michael Mullooly Ciaran O'Moore Members: Members:

Patrick Costello
Teresa Keegan
Ardmhéara Micheal Mac Donncha
Naoise O'Muiri
Anne Feeney
Dermot Lacey
Ray McHugh
Damian O'Farrell

Officers

Michael Gallagher Deirdre Ni Raghallaigh Richard Shakespeare

Councillor Deirdre Heney

Chairperson Thursday 4 January 2018